Women’s March 2017

Way to go women!! What an awesome, awe inspiring, and motivational day this was. Since I live close to Washington, D.C. I felt it was only appropriate for me to be present on this historical day, and I am so glad I made the effort to get there. As soon as I got out of my car at the metro station and heard a group of excited women cheering each other on I knew it was going to be a great day. Everyone was so kind and helpful to each other, which was a stark contrast to the daily commutes I have been a part of in the past.

I had decided to make my way downtown fairly early in the day. I think i arrived at the metro about 7 am and was in D.C. just after 8 am. Since I knew I would be waiting for someone at the metro station I decided to get something to eat and chill for a while. I returned to the top of the escalators about 9:15 and by then women were just pouring out of the metro. I can honestly say I’ve never seen anything like it before, and I’ve been in D.C. with other large crowds.

When I finally made it to the corner Independence Avenue and 9th I could tell it would be futile to try to get any closer. Luckily there were large speakers near me and a large screen showing the main stage just a couple blocks away, so I didn’t miss much. I was glad to get to hear Gloria Steinem speak in person. Michael Moore did have some great action items for everyone to take when they got back home, although after a while he was starting to ramble just a bit, so Ashley Judd ended up cutting him off. I think that was more for the sake of time than anything else. Ashley Judd was very engaging, although I think she upset some of the crowd with her very extreme views.

Now all of us empowered women are starting to move on to our next actions. I’ve been reading about others getting involved beyond what they may have already been. I myself have taken some of my own actions, and will continue to do so for as long as I feel my voice will need to be heard. Let us all rise up and let our voices be heard!

Leave a Reply

